Home News Project News Unveiling the Top 12 Bloggers of the YoBloCo Awards!
Tuesday, 27 May 2014 12:52

Unveiling the Top 12 Bloggers of the YoBloCo Awards!

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The jury has made its decision and the winners of the YoBloCo Awards have been selected. We are excited to unveil the Top 12 Bloggers of the Awards! The actual 9 Winners will be announced at the Prize Giving Ceremony of the competition, which will take place during CTA’s 2014 International Conference “Fin4Ag” www.fin4ag.org, in Nairobi, Kenya, from 14 - 18 July 2014.  All the 12 best participants will be invited to take part in the conference.

Top 12 Bloggers

The Top 12 Bloggers of the 2nd Edition of the YoBloCo Awards are (listed in alphabetical order of the blog’s name):

Individual Category (six prizes will be awarded in this category):

Blogger’s Name Blog Name Country

Oluwabunmi Ajilore



Elcah Nafula Barasa

Elcah's Blog


David Mwenda

Foundation for young Farmers


Inoussa Maiga

Googol Farmer

Burkina Faso

Marthe Montcho

Le blog de Marthe MONTCHO Benin

Anne Matho Motsou

Les graines de l'info Cameroon

Haingo Rasolofomanana

l'odeur de la terre Madagascar

Luke Smith

LukesmithT.v Trinidad and Tobago

Institutional Category (three prizes will be awarded in this category):

Institution Blog Name Region

Agropreneur Nigeria

Agropreneur Naija- Keeping the NEXT Generation of Agriculturist Informed

West Africa

Youth Partnership and Agricultural Development

Blog Africa Family Farming Workshops

West Africa

Arid Lands Information Network

Laikipia Rural Voices

Eastern Africa

Savannah Young Farmers Network

Savannah Young Farmers Network (SavaNet)

West Africa

No winner has been selected in Central Africa for the institutional category. There was also no entry received from the other ACP regions in this category.


CTA wishes to encourage the following participants from Central Africa, the Pacific and Southern Africa for the interest of their blogs. They will also be invited to attend the Fin4Ag Conference.

Blogger/Institution Blog Name Region

AGRO-HUB Cooperative Limited (Institutional category)

Agro-Hub blog

Central Africa

Carole Cholai (Individual category)

PNG Women|Agriculture|ICT|Development


Harrison Manyumwa (Individual category)

The Barefoot E-ssue

Southern Africa

Congratulations to all these participants!


Prizes going up to 3,000 Euros will be awarded for the Institutional Category and up to 1,500 Euros for the Individual Category. Special prizes are: Best Blog for Family Farming, Best Female Blog and Best Blog with Business Potential.

We hope that the all bloggers will keep updating their blogs and raise the youth voice in agriculture. You are all doing a wonderful job, keep it up!

And for the best participants, the adventure continues in Nairobi at the Fin4Ag Conference!

For more information:

Launched in October 2013 at the Caribbean Week of Agriculture, the 2nd Edition of the YoBloCo Awards has been a very exciting journey for participants and the organisers. We would like to thank all the participants who took up the challenge and submitted their blogs. We are equally thankful to our partners and everyone who have been following, supporting and promoting the competition!

The Youth in Agriculture Blog Competition (YoBloCo Awards) is organised in the framework of the CTA ARDYIS project, in collaboration with FARA, Yam-PukriCAFANAYF, ANAFE, SPC/PAFPNET and e-Agriculture. It aims to put into limelight successes and issues faced by youth engaged in agriculture, in urban and rural areas; and to encourage the production of information and the use of new information and communication technologies by young farmers groups and organisations interested in the youth in agriculture question. For more information, visit www.yobloco.info.

Announcement originally published on the YoBloCo website:
Unveiling the Top 12 Bloggers of the YoBloCo Awards!

Last modified on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 13:43


ICT and Youth in Agriculture in Africa (Report)