Home Activities Awards Winners of the YoBloCo Awards announced at the Fin4Ag Conference!
Tuesday, 19 August 2014 09:09

Winners of the YoBloCo Awards announced at the Fin4Ag Conference!

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The 9 winners of the Youth in Agriculture Blog Competition (YoBloCo Awards) have been announced this evening (17 July 2014)  during the cocktail dinner organised at the International Fin4Ag Conference in Nairobi, Kenya.

The winners are:

Individual category


Blog Name


Marthe Montcho (Benin)

Le blog de Marthe MONTCHO

1st Prize (€ 1,500)

Anne Matho (Cameroon)

Les graines de l'info

2nd Prize (€ 1,000)

Ajilore Oluwabunmi (Nigeria)


3rd Prize (€ 800)

Institutional Category


Blog Name


ALIN (Kenya)

Laikipia Rural Voices

East Africa (€ 3,000)

Agropreneur Nigeria

Agropreneur Naija

West Africa (€ 3,000)

Special Prizes (individual and institutional categories)


Blog Name


Mwenda David (Kenya)

Foundation for young Farmers

Best Blog with Business Potential (€ 1,000)

Elcah Nafula Barasa (Kenya)

Elcah's Blog

Best Female Blog (€ 1,000)

Inoussa Maiga (Burkina Faso)

Googol Farmer

Best Blog on Family Farming –  Individual Category (€ 1,000)

Savannah Young Farmers  Network (Ghana)


Best Blog on Family Farming –  Institutional Category (€ 1,000)

Congratulations to all the winners!

The winners were announced by
Philppe Couve, Jury member, assisted by Ken Lohento, in charge of the ARDYIS project. The results were announced in presence of participants of the conference, during a cocktail, and in the presence of various personalities including the Director of CTA, Michael Hailu. Apart from the cash prize won, each winner received a trophy, a certificate and various publications.

top 12 bloggers and 3 other best participants of the competition were invited to attend the Fin4Ag Conference from 14-18 July 2014, which is proving to be a good learning and networking opportunity for them.

During a side-meeting organised by the ARDYIS project on 16 July in Nairobi, the young agri-bloggers shared their experiences about their journey through the competition and also had the opportunity to exchange with Phillipe Couve, one of the jury members, who gave them feedback on their blogs and how they can improve their writing.

CTA and its partners congratulate the winners, as well as all participants who entered the competition!

Watch here
a 2 min video showcasing the 12 finalist blogs and played before the announcement of results.

More information

Launched in October 2013 at the Caribbean Week of Agriculture, the 2nd Edition of the YoBloCo Awards has been a very exciting journey for participants and the organisers. We would like to thank all the participants who took up the challenge and submitted their blogs. We are equally thankful to our partners and everyone who have been following, supporting and promoting the competition!

The Youth in Agriculture Blog Competition (
YoBloCo Awards) is organised in the framework of the CTA ARDYIS project, in collaboration with FARA, Yam-Pukri, CAFAN, AYF, ANAFE, SPC/PAFPNET and e-Agriculture. It aims to put into limelight successes and issues faced by youth engaged in agriculture, in urban and rural areas; and to encourage the production of information and the use of new information and communication technologies by young farmers groups and organisations interested in the youth in agriculture question. For more information, visit www.yobloco.info.

Last modified on Tuesday, 19 August 2014 09:39


E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it